Photography @ Noj


Sun Keting (b. 1993) is a London-based Chinese composer and artist. Her recent works focus on performance arts and instrumental sound exploration combining Eastern cultural, spiritual and philosophical elements.

Sun's music has been performed in the U.K., U.S., Europe and Asia. She has composed music for the London Symphony Orchestra, The Silk Road Ensemble, the Chroma Ensemble, the Tangram, The Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra and The National Chinese Orchestra Taiwan. She has collaborated on projects with The Wellcome Collection, The Bristol School of Animation and Leeds Lieder Festival as well as established musicians and artists such as Paul Morley, Huw Watkins, Liam Byrne, Ben Glassberg, Huang Xiao and Michael Foyle.

This year, she was selected to participate in the LPO Young Composers Programme 20/21, Psappha 20/21 'Composing for...scheme' and Riot Ensemble x RAM Project. Previously she curated The Scent of Sound concert featuring new music based on folk music elements, cross-culture and cross-arts. Later on, she was selected to join LSO's Soudhub Composer Scheme for both18/19 and 19/20 phases and had the privilege of being mentored by Rolf Hind and Anna Thorvaldsdottir. She began composing in collaboration with Rome-based Chinese choreographer/artist Huang Xiao and jointly created Enso(2019) and Listen(2020), both premiered at the LSO St. Lukes. She is also a composer-in-residence of both Chinese Arts Now and Tangram and lately, Her work One Undivided(2019) was co-commissioned by CAN, LSO and the Silk String quartet, her work Erasure(2019) was co-commissioned by Tangram and Yoyo Ma's Silk Road Ensemble. Recently she attended the Creative Dialogue 2019 in Finland guided by the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho and the Finnish cellist Anssi Karttunen.

In 2018, she has started a doctorate at the Royal Academy of Music under the mentorship of Helen Grime and supervised by Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Hans Abrahamsen, Anna Thorvaldsdottir and Christopher Austin. She completed her MMus degree at the RAM in 2018 and received Distinction Degree and the Pullen Memorial Prize. In 2016, Sun pursued her bachelor’s degree in composition at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music.




©2017-2020 by Sun Keting

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon